Skip to the content

A Trip to Harlem: Bernstein, Ellington, Gershwin, and Douglas J. Cuomo

October 14–16, 2022



Bass Performance Hall


Experience an elegant evening of jazz in this homage to some of America’s greatest music, with works by A-listers like Bernstein, Gershwin and Duke Ellington. Plus, the FWSO continues to propel classical music forward with a world premiere by noted film, television and concert music composer Douglas J. Cuomo.


BERNSTEIN: Three Dance Episodes from On the Town

DOUGLAS J. CUOMO: a raft, the sky, the wild sea

(World Premiere)


GERSHWIN (arr. Bennett): Selections from Porgy and Bess

Featured Artists

Robert Spano, conductor

Joe Lovano, saxophone

Douglas J. Cuomo, visiting composer

About the Artists

Robert Spano, Conductor

Joe Lovano, saxophone

Douglas J. Cuomo, visiting composer

Want More Information?

Ahead of this performance, you will be able to find the Bachtales with Buddy pre-concert lecture, a link to the digital program for this concert, and links to guest artist bio pages below!

For additional questions, email