Skip to the content

A New Musical Era Begins: Brahms, Beethoven, and Schubert

September 09–11, 2022



Bass Performance Hall


Pianist Jorge Federico Osorio kicks off the 2022-23 season with Beethoven’s triumphal “Emperor” piano concerto, a work of surging euphoria and unrivaled majesty. In this opening night celebration, FWSO Music Director Robert Spano will bring to life Brahms’ lyric Variations on a Theme by Haydn and Schubert’s mysterious “Unfinished” symphony.

The grandeur of Beethoven's "Emperor" piano concerto, the mystery of Schubert's "Unfinished" symphony and the charm of Brahms' Variations on a Theme by Haydn make for a quintessentially classical evening.


BRAHMS: Variations on a Theme by Haydn

SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8, “Unfinished”

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5, “Emperor”

About the Artists

Robert Spano, Conductor

Jorge Federico Osorio, piano

Want More Information?

Ahead of this performance, you will be able to find the Bachtales with Buddy pre-concert lecture, a link to the digital program for this concert, and links to guest artist bio pages below!

For additional questions, email